South Africa

Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


South Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa (RSA), is the southernmost country in Africa. The country is bordered by neighbouring countries of Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe; and on the east and northeast by Mozambique and Swaziland; and enclaves the kingdom of Lesotho.

South Africa is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services, and the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.


The major stock exchanges in this country include;

National Mobile Network Operators

There are 1 mobile network operators servicing this region.

3G: Active
4G: Active
5G: Trialling
IoT: Active
IoT Technology: NB-IoT (LTE Cat-NB1)

Hardware Manufacturers

There are 1 hardware manufacturers operating in this region.

Technology Developers

No Technology Developers in this region. Reach thousands of potential customers - list your company here.