Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


Estonia (Eesti), officially the Republic of Estonia, is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered to the north by the Gulf of Finland, to the west by the Baltic Sea, to the south by Latvia, and to the east by Lake Peipus and Russia. The territory of Estonia consists of a mainland and 2,222 islands in the Baltic Sea.

Estonia is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications, and the Estonian Technical Regulatory Authority is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.

Estonian 5G

Tarbijakaitse ja Tehnilise Jarelevalve Amet, TTJA has approached the country's 5G spectrum auction by splitting the 3.5 GHz band into three blocks of 130 MHz to favour the provision of high speed mid-band 5G services through the use of contiguous allotments. A legal challenge from Levikom Eesti has resulted in a delay to the award procedure until the issue is resolved.