United States

Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


The United States of America (USA), commonly known as the United States (U.S. / US), is a federal republic composed of 50 states, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions. 

The US has sixteen territories in the Caribbean Sea, the south Pacific Ocean, and the western portion of the north Pacific Ocean. Five of them are permanently inhabited and are classified as unincorporated territories. The other eleven are small islands, atolls, and reefs with no native or permanent population.

The United States Minor Outlying Islands consist of eight areas in the Pacific Ocean; Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Midway Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, and Wake Island, along with Navassa Island in the Caribbean Sea.

United States is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-2. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the International Communications and Information Policy (CIP), and the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.

National Mobile Network Operators

There are 3 mobile network operators servicing this region.

3G: N/A
4G: Active
5G: Active
5G Bands: n261 (28 GHz)
IoT: Active, Active
IoT Technology: eMTC (LTE Cat-M1), NB-IoT (LTE Cat-NB1)
3G: No Deployment
4G: Active
5G: Active
5G Bands: n41 (2500 MHz)
IoT: N/A
3G: Active
4G: Active
5G: Active
IoT: Active
IoT Technology: NB-IoT (LTE Cat-NB1)

Wireless Network Operators

There are 1 subnational network operators servicing this region.

3G: No Deployment
4G: Active
5G: Trialling
IoT: Planned
IoT Technology: eMTC (LTE Cat-M1)