United Kingdom

Geographic Region (ITU/UN)



ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




Calling Code


ITU Member


ITU-R Region


The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK), is a sovereign country in western Europe. Lying off the north-western coast of the European mainland, the United Kingdom includes the island of Great Britain, the north-eastern part of the island of Ireland and many smaller islands. Northern Ireland is the only part of the United Kingdom that shares a land border with another sovereign state‍—‌the Republic of Ireland. The nearby Isle of Man, Bailiwick of Guernsey and Bailiwick of Jersey are not part of the United Kingdom, but are considered Crown Dependencies.

The UK claims sovereignty over fourteen British Overseas Territories, which are: Anguilla; Bermuda; the British Antarctic Territory; the British Indian Ocean Territory; the British Virgin Islands; the Cayman Islands; the Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; the Turks and Caicos Islands; the Pitcairn Islands; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; and Akrotir and Dhekelia on the island of Cyprus.

The British Commonwealth, administered by the UK, consists of fifteen further independent nations.

United Kingdom is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS), and the Office of Communications - Ofcom is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.


The major stock exchanges in this country include;

Hardware Manufacturers

There are 2 hardware manufacturers operating in this region.