Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


Serbia (Србија), officially the Republic of Serbia, is a landlocked country situated at the crossroads of Central and Southeast Europe in the southern Pannonian Plain and the central Balkans. It borders Hungary to the north; Romania and Bulgaria to the east; Macedonia to the south; Croatia, Bosnia, and Montenegro to the west. The country's south western province of Kosovo declared independence in February 2008. While Serbia recognises administration of the territory by Kosovo's elected government, it continues to claim it as an autonomous region within Serbia.

Serbia is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Telecommunications, and the Regulatory Agency for Electronic Communications and Postal Services (RATEL) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.