Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


Morocco (المَغرِب / Maroc), officially known as the Kingdom of Morocco, is a sovereign country located in the Maghreb region of North Africa.  It is bordered by Spain to the north (a water border through the Strait and land borders with three small Spanish-controlled exclaves, Ceuta, Melilla, and Peñón de Vélez de la Gomera), Algeria to the east, and the disputed territory of Western Sahara to the south. Since Morocco controls most of Western Sahara, its de facto southern boundary is with Mauritania.

Regulatory Environment

Morocco is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Direction de l'Economie Numérique, and the Agence Nationale de Réglementation des Télécommunications (ANRT) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.

Moroccan 5G

The ANRT is considering using the 3400 to 3600 MHz band for mid-band 5G services.

National Mobile Network Operators

There are 1 mobile network operators servicing this region.

3G: Active
3G Bands: B1 (2100 MHz)
4G: Active
5G: Planned
IoT: N/A