Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


Georgia (საქართველო) is a country in the Caucasus region of Eurasia. Located at the crossroads of Western Asia and Eastern Europe, it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the southeast by Azerbaijan. Georgia is divided into 9 regions, 1 city, and 2 autonomous republics. Officially autonomous within Georgia, the de facto independent region of Abkhazia declared independence in 1999. In addition, the territory of South Ossetia while not officially autonomous has also declared independence. Both independent regions are serviced by their own telecommunications networks and carriers.

The telecommunications industry is well developed in Georgia due to the open and competitive market, with four major cellular operators and over 150 fixed internet service providers. Development is well lead by the Georgian Government, with the State Program on Broadband Infrastructure Development to see the country fully covered by optical fibre backbones over the following years. According to latest ITU data (June 2017) 3G mobile coverage reaches 99.9% of the population, and 4G LTE also accessible by 92% of Georgians.

Georgia is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia, and the Georgian National Communications Commission is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.