Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


Burundi, officially the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. It is also considered part of Central Africa.

The country is working to develop its national ICT infrastructure, with the joint public-private Burundi Backbone System (BBS) project managing fibre-optic interconnections. Fixed broadband services are minimal, with the majority of internet connectivity provided by wireless operators. The mobile operator market continues to change, with currently three national MNOs. According to latest ITU data (June 2017) mobile coverage reaches 40% of the population, with 4G coverage estimates unknown.

Burundi is a member of the ITU and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Ministère des Postes, des Technologies de l'Information, de la Communication et des Médias, and the Agence de Régulation et de Contrôle des Télécommunications (ARCT) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.

National Mobile Network Operators

There are 1 mobile network operators servicing this region.

3G: N/A
3G Bands: B1 (2100 MHz)
4G: N/A
5G: N/A
IoT: N/A