Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


The Bahamas, known officially as the Commonwealth of the Bahamas, is an archipelagic state within the Lucayan Archipelago. It consists of more than 700 islands, cays, and islets in the Atlantic Ocean, and is located north of Cuba and Hispaniola, northwest of the Turks and Caicos Islands, southeast of the US state of Florida, and east of the Florida Keys.

The Bahamian mobile market was a monopoly of Bahamas Telecommunications Company (BTC) until October 2016, when Aliv entered the market with a fully operational LTE network. According to latest ITU data (June 2017) mobile coverage reaches 98% of the population, and 4G LTE accessible by 95% of citizens.

Bahamas is a member of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-2. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Ministry of National Security, and the Utilities Regulation and Competition Authority (URCA) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.