Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


Argentina, officially the Argentine Republic (República Argentina), is a federal republic in the southern portion of South America. Sharing the bulk of the Southern Cone with its neighbor Chile to the west, the country is also bordered by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil to the northeast, Uruguay and the South Atlantic Ocean to the east, and the Drake Passage to the south.

Mobile broadband penetration is close to the regional average and noticeably ahead of the global level. 3G technology was launched in 2007, and 4G LTE became available in 2014. Argentina’s LTE adoption rates were the fastest growing in Latin America during the first six months after the launch, with approximately six new users per minute. According to latest ITU data (June 2017) mobile coverage reaches 95% of the population, and 4G LTE accessible by 85% of Argentinians.

Argentina is a member of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-2. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Ministerio de Modernización, and the Ente Nacional de Comunicaciones (ENACOM) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.

Wireless Network Operators

There are 2 subnational network operators servicing this region.

IoT: Active
IoT: Active
IoT Technology: Sigfox UNB