Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


Angola, officially the Republic of Angola, is a country in Southern Africa. It is bordered by Namibia to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Zambia to the east, and the Atlantic Ocean to west. The exclave province of Cabinda has borders with the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The capital and largest city of Angola is Luanda.

Despite Angola’s above-average per capita income in the region, only around two-thirds of households (63%) had mobile phones with a wide variation between urban (83%) and rural areas (31%). According to latest ITU data (June 2017) mobile coverage reaches 62% of the population, and 4G LTE accessible by 8% of Angolans due to its limited deployment outside of major urban centres.

Angola is a member of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and as such follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-1. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the Ministry of Telecommunications and Information Technologies, and the Angolan Institute of Communications (INACOM) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.