American Samoa

Geographic Region (ITU/UN)

ISO 3166 Code


M49 Code




ITU Member


ITU-R Region


American Samoa (Amerika Sāmoa) is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of Samoa. The territory consists of five main islands and two coral atolls. The largest and most populous island is Tutuila, with the Manuʻa Islands, Rose Atoll, and Swains Island also included in the territory.

American Samoa is a not a member of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) however the territory falls under US governance who are. American Samoa follows radio frequency harmonisation principles according to ITU-R Region-3. The regulatory body governing communications policy is the International Communications and Information Policy (CIP), and the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is charged with regulating the country's radio frequency spectrum activities such as planning, allocations, and licencing.